Travel to a Zone That is Outside of Your Norm

Travel to a place that is full of surprise for you.  Shock others by stepping out of your comfortable surroundings. I speak to you the White American that visits only places where others speak the same language as you.  I speak to you all the races and cultures that are residing outside of their native land and when you travel, you only travel to your native land.  This message is for you.

I am so grateful for my travel adventures and every time I am in a new place, I take a moment to try to connect with a local.  For me, it’s about getting a sense of perspective and renewing my mind.  I have my own bias and have to let go and learn.

Stretch yourself to step outside of your norm. Today, you don’t have to travel to another country to experience culture.  Travel a few feet within your office and get to know someone who is from Asia, Oceania, Africa, or South America.  Have conversations with people who are a different race than you.  If your workplace is diverse, you must use the opportunity to connect with others.  Your perspective on things is not the only perspective.  Learn about someone else’s perspective to broaden your own mind and begin to think more globally.

In honor of Martin Luther King Jr. Day, peace be with you.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Travel to a Zone That is Outside of Your Norm

Add yours

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑